Posts Tagged ‘Gorey’

Gorey Gaurdian, Wednesday March 18 2009

KILMUCKRIDGE and Wexford Drama Groups were the big winners at the culmination of the Wexford Drama Festival.

A packed Dun Mhuire theatre enjoyed Bridge Drama Group’s production of ‘Same Old Moon’ on Friday night, which brought to an end the eight night run of the very successful 47th Wexford Drama Festival.

The first award, the Audience Cup, was presented to Paul Walsh of Wexford Drama Group by patron, Dick Trappe for their production of ‘Holy Day’.

The Tomás Murray Award for best newcomer, was presented by Mary and Aoife Murray to Kilmuckridge Drama Group’s Peter Corboy for his role as Johnny Boyle in ‘Juno and the Paycock’. The Lorcan Kiernan Cup for Best Performance by a Wexford actor went to Fergal Kelly, of the Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group.

Wexford Drama group got an Adjudicators Award for Lighting, Sound and Costumes, as did Kilrush for a wonderful scene in ‘A Skull in Connemara’ and Kilmuckridg e for ‘Juno and the Paycock’.

In the Confined section Best Set went to Castlebridge’s Bridge Drama Group, while overall Kilrush came third with ‘A Skull in Connemara’, the Bridge Players came second with ‘Same Old Moon’ and Kilmuckridge were crowned Confined champions with Andy Doyle also winning Best Producer for ‘Juno and the Paycock’.

In the Open Section Wexford Drama Group won Best Set, while overall Bunclody/ Kilmyshall Drama Group came third with ‘The Wake’, the Estuary Players came second with ‘The Last Days of Judas Iscariot’ and the overall Open section winners were Wexford Drama group for their production of Andrew Bovell’s ‘Holy Day’, with Wexford’s Paul Walsh also winning Best Director.

Read Full Post »

Gorey Gaurdian, Wednesday March 19 2008

“High drama at Wexford festival”

THE Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group and Kilrush Drama Group emerged as the big winners during the Wexford Drama Festival, scooping the major awards in the open and confined sections.

There was great entertainment on offer in the Dun Mhuire theatre over the course of eight nights as the local groups produced a very high standard of play for their enthralled audiences, with the Bridge Drama Group proving the crowd’s favourites and Mary Gibson of Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group picking up the coveted Lorcan Kiernan Cup for Best Overall Performance by a Wexford Actor.

The full results of the 46th Wexford Drama Festival were as follows:

Confined Section

Best Actor in Supporting Role Frank Ryan (Bridge Drama Group); Best Actress in Supporting Role Angela Swaine (Ferns Drama Group); Best Actor Maurice Ruth (Kilrush Drama Group); Best Actress Marie Johnston (Kilmuckridge Drama Group); Best Set Thomas Fortune, Marie Ennett, Michael Maguire and Jim Whelan (Ferns Drama Group); Best Producer Michael Byrne (Kilrush Drama Group); Best Play Kilrush Drama Group with The Cripple of Inishmaan’ by Martin McDonagh.

Open Section

Best Actor in Supporting Role Barry Goff (Ballycogley Drama Group); Best Actress in Supporting Role Theresa Boyle (Wexford Drama Group); Best Actor Pat Connaughton (Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group); Best Actress and winner of the Lorcan Kiernan Cup for Best Overall Performance by a Wexford Actor Mary Gibson (Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group); Best Set Carmel Byrne and Louise Forde (Gorey Little Theatre); Best Producer Tommy Murphy (Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group); Best Play Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group with Crystal and Fox’ by Brian Friel.

Adjudicators Awards

Ensemble playing by Hester and Josie in By the Bog of Cat’ from Ferns Drama Group Clodagh Cecil and Roisin Owens. The lighting effects for the final scene in Glorious’ by Gorey Little Theatre Eddie O’Brien.

Audience Cup

Bridge Drama Group I Do Not Like Thee Dr. Fell’ by Bernard Farrell.

Read Full Post »